CRN Home Page









CRN Meeting
ACLS Offices, New York
February 6-9, 2003
Program
Participants and Contributors
Response Papers



Thursday, Feb. 6

6:00-7:30
Arrival at the Yale Club

Program Committee meeting (at ACLS)

Friday, Feb. 7

9:30-10:00

10:00-12:00

12:00-1:30

Breakfast (at ACLS)

Team France (in French)

Lunch (at ACLS)

1:301:45

1:453:15

Welcome statement: Andrzej Tymowski

Panel on Q 1 "Relation to the past"
David Bell (chair), Tatiana Filippova, Eduard Ponarin

3:306:30

Q 2 "Globalization"
Michel Giraud (chair) William Miles, Jieru Wang, Chusak Wittayapak, Justin Daniel, Kwanchewan Buadaeng

7:30

Dinner ("Dervish" Restaurant)

Saturday, Feb. 8

9:00-9:30

9:3011:00

Breakfast (at ACLS)

Q 3 "On what conditions do identifications 'work'?"
followed by discussion of CRN objectives
Peter Sahlins and James Scott

11:1512:45

Q 4 "Place"
Tyler Stovall (chair), Pinkaew Laungaramsri, Ludmila Gatagova

12:452:00

Lunch (at ACLS)

2:004:00

Q 5 "Official id. and minorities"
Janet Sturgeon, Theodore Hopf (co-chairs), Fred Constant, Liliya Sagitova, Dru Gladney/Jianmin Wang

4:306:00

Closing session: Looking ahead
Peter Sahlins, chair

7:00

Dinner ("Tapas" Restaurant)

Sunday, Feb. 9

2:00-4:00

Walking tour of the Lower East Side and Chinatown


Participants and Contributors

France:
David Bell: dabell@jhu.edu
Fred Constant: fred.constant@usenghor-francophonie.org
Justin Daniel: d.justin@wanadoo.fr
Laurent Dubois: duboisl@msu.edu
Michael Giraud: mgiraud@easynet.fr
William Miles: b.miles@neu.edu
Peter Sahlins: sahlins@socrates.berkeley.edu
Tyler Stovall: d.tstovall@socrates.berkeley.edu

Southeast Asia:
James Scott: james.scott@yale.edu
Janet Sturgeon: Janet_Sturgeon@Brown.edu

Chiang Mai:
Kwanchewan Buadaeng: srxxo012@chiangmai.ac.th
Pinkaew Laungaramsri: pinkaew@soc.cmu.ac.th
Chayan Vaddhanaphuti: ethnet@loxinfo.co.th
Chusak Wittayapak: chusak@soc.cmu.ac.th

Kunming:
Jieru Wang: jieruw@public.km.yn.cn

Russia:
Tatyana Filippova: tatianaphil@mail.ru
Ludmila Gatagova: llgochshtat@hotmail.com
Theodore Hopf: hopf.2@osu.edu
Juliet Johnson: jjohns@luc.edu
Eduard Ponarin: edp@eu.spb.ru
Liliya Sagitova: liliya_sagitova@mail.ru

Xinjiang:
Dru Gladney: dru@hawaii.edu
Jian-min Wang: wanghw@95777.com
ACLS Home | CRN Home | Network | Chronology | Organization Chart | Documents | Meetings | France & French Atlantic | Russia | Southeast Asia

For further project information contact Olga Buhkina. For other ACLS contacts, see staff listing.

© American Council of Learned Societies, All Rights Reserved